Viking Astrea
Premium · built 2027 · 998 guests

Viking Astrea

Viking (Ocean)

Pictured: sister ship Viking Mira, same design. Photo: Dag Chr Halvorsen, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Is she right for you?

Adults who want a calm, port-focused cruise with a small-ship feel and no casino.

Think twice if: Not yet in service; details, dates and the IMO number are not published yet.

See her Europe sailings ↓ · Where is she now? → · Viking (Ocean)'s page for this ship →

At a glance

What she's like

Size & feelMid-size · 998 guests

Easy to find your way around. Fewer crowds getting off in port. About 54 tons of ship per guest. As a rule of thumb, 40 or more feels roomy and under 30 feels busy.

Who you'll sail with

Adults only ('No children under 18'). Nationality mix not published on pages checked.

Price level$$$$$

Our judgment, from $ (budget) to $$$$$ (ultra-luxury).

Included in the fare

Veranda stateroom, all eight onboard restaurants at no extra charge, beer/wine/soft drinks with lunch and dinner, all-day coffee and tea, one shore excursion in every port, Wi-Fi ('No charge for Wi-Fi'), enrichment. Airport transfers only when air is bought from Viking.

Children

No children under 18.

What to wear

No formal nights ('No formal nights, butlers or white gloves'); exact evening code not published.

Where & when

Where she sails in Europe

Mediterranean, Northern Europe

We don't have her sailing-by-sailing schedule yet. See the line's site for dates.

Your real budget

What it costs beyond the fare

Tips for the crewSECONDARY source; Viking's own pages checked did not state a gratuity amount. Daily amount unknown.
Drinks packageSilver Spirits Beverage Package $27 USD per person per day (drinks up to $18; 15% service charge included); both guests in the cabin must buy it for the whole cruise; 21+ only.
WifiIncluded ('No charge for Wi-Fi').
Specialty restaurantsIncluded (eight dining options, 'all with no additional charge or fee').
Money on boardUSD for US-market fares; onboard currency not published.

How tipping and money work on a European cruise → · Build a full trip budget →

Her restaurants · 0 included, 0 extra

Where to eatCost
The RestaurantNot stated
Manfredi's Italian RestaurantNot stated
The Chef's TableNot stated
World CaféNot stated
Aquavit TerraceNot stated
Mamsen'sNot stated
Wintergarden (afternoon tea)Not stated
Pool GrillNot stated
Room service (24-hour)Not stated
Choosing your cabin

Which cabin to book, and which to avoid

The line doesn't publish cabin sizes for this ship that we could find.

Good to know before you pick

No cabin warnings found on the plan.

If you use a wheelchair or walk with difficulty

The line doesn't publish accessibility details for this ship. Ask before you book. Our accessibility guide →

Deck plans

Find your way around

We couldn't read this ship's deck plan deck by deck yet, so the drawing shows only how many guest decks she has.

GUEST DECK 4GUEST DECK 3GUEST DECK 2GUEST DECK 1BOW →← STERN

Open Viking (Ocean)'s official deck plan →

Planning your trip

What to book, and when

Booking, check-in and reservations

$25 deposit (promotion, Nov 2026, US residents); 2026 sailings: pay in full by Nov 30, 2026 or 120 days before departure, whichever comes first (dates vary by year).

Tips for her Europe sailings

International flights bought from Viking depart the US one day before check-in date.

Before you go

The details

The ship in numbers

Cruise line
Viking (Ocean)
Kind of ship
Premium
Built
2027
Guests
998
Cabins
499
Gross tons
54,300
Length
239 m (784 ft)
Width
31 m (101 ft)
Class
Viking ocean ship (Viking Star class, enlarged 998-guest version)
Sister ships
Viking Vela, Viking Vesta, Viking Mira, Viking Libra
In Europe 2026–27
Mediterranean, Northern Europe
Worth knowing

Highlights

  • Scheduled for delivery in 2027; Viking says it will also be hydrogen-powered and able to run with zero emissions
  • Newer, slightly larger Viking design: 998 guests in 499 all-veranda staterooms (vs 930 on the older sisters)
  • Fewer than 1,000 guests on every Viking ocean ship (Viking fleet page)
  • Indoor main pool under a glass roof plus an infinity pool (Viking ship page)
Sources & what we could not confirm · 9 sources · checked 2026-11
Still being confirmed
  • Viking ship pages load the deck plan in an interactive viewer that could not be read as text; decks left null.
  • Viking's dining page names the venues but does not say which carry a charge; cost left null.
  • This ship's own Viking page was not opened (fleet page lists the URL); facts carried over from the class and the Wikipedia fleet table.
  • Flag not yet confirmed for this ship (VesselFinder shows Italy while at the builder; Wikipedia lists Norway as planned).
  • Viking (Ocean): Gratuity amount and whether auto-added (only secondary source says not included)
  • Viking (Ocean): Dress code details
  • Viking (Ocean): Smoking
  • Viking (Ocean): Cancellation schedule
  • Viking (Ocean): Wheelchair/tender policy
  • Viking (Ocean): Onboard currency