Legend of the Seas
Mass-market · built 2026 · 5,610 guests

Legend of the Seas

Royal Caribbean International · Icon class

No free-to-use photo of this ship was found. Scene photo: see the photo credits page.

Is she right for you?

Families who want the biggest, newest Royal Caribbean ship in Europe.

Think twice if: One of the largest ships afloat: crowds, long walks and heavy port impact.

See her Europe sailings ↓ · Where is she now? → · Royal Caribbean International's page for this ship →

At a glance

What she's like

Size & feelVery large · 5,610 guests

A floating resort with the most to do. Expect lines at boarding, the buffet and tender boats. About 44 tons of ship per guest. As a rule of thumb, 40 or more feels roomy and under 30 feels busy.

Who you'll sail with

Unknown from line's site (English is the shipboard language; nationality mix on Europe sailings not published).

Price level$$$$$

Our judgment, from $ (budget) to $$$$$ (ultra-luxury).

Included in the fare

Cabin, main dining room, buffet (Windjammer) and casual venues, basic drinks (water, brewed coffee, tea, iced tea, lemonade, milk, select juices), continental room-service breakfast, entertainment, kids' clubs. NOT included: alcohol, soda, specialty dining, Wi-Fi, shore excursions, gratuities. Top 'Star Class' suites move specialty dining, a drinks package, gratuities and Wi-Fi into the fare.

Children

Adventure Ocean kids' program for ages 3-17; nursery-age care from 6 months on some ships (line's guide: 'kids (6 months to 12 years old)'). No adults-only sailings; adults-only Solarium.

What to wear

Casual by day; 'smart casual' evenings; 'Dress Your Best' (formal-optional) nights: one on 5-night cruises, two on 6-10-night cruises.

Where & when

Her Europe sailings, May 2027 to October 2027

50 sailings in Europe on the published schedule, 3 to 7 nights. Tap a start port to see how to get from the airport to the ship.

Where they start

The counts above are our own tally of the CruiseTimetables.com listing for this ship (an independent site), read in November 2026. We do not reprint the dates here. See the full date list on CruiseTimetables.com. Routes change, so check with the line before you buy flights.
Your real budget

What it costs beyond the fare

Tips for the crew$18 per person per day; Suites: $20.5 per person per day; Added to your bill automatically
Drinks packageDeluxe Beverage Package and others sold per person per day; price varies by sailing and is shown in the Cruise Planner (no fixed published price found). 18% gratuity added automatically. Can buy online up to 72 hours before sailing or onboard on day 1.
WifiNot included. VOOM (Starlink) Wi-Fi: $16.99-$30.99 per device per day; cheaper if bought before sailing.
Specialty restaurantsExtra charge; 3-Night and Unlimited Dining Packages sold pre-cruise (up to 40% savings). Per-restaurant prices not published on pages checked.
Money on boardUSD (onboard account in US dollars; other currencies converted, limit USD $950 per person per day)

How tipping and money work on a European cruise → · Build a full trip budget →

Her restaurants · 1 included, 0 extra

Where to eatCost
BasecampNot stated
Izumi Hibachi & SushiNot stated
Surfside BitesNot stated
Surfside EateryNot stated
Giovanni’s Italian Kitchen & Wine BarNot stated
Hollywoodland Supper ClubNot stated
Royal Railway: Legend StationNot stated
Pier 7Not stated
AquaDome MarketNot stated
Coastal KitchenNot stated
Dining RoomIncluded
El Loco FreshNot stated
Park CaféNot stated
Pearl CaféNot stated
Chops GrilleNot stated
Sorrento's PizzaNot stated
Hooked SeafoodNot stated
Izumi in the ParkNot stated
Choosing your cabin

Which cabin to book, and which to avoid

Cabin typeSizeDecks
Ocean View (deck 3 listing)160-187 sq ft3
Interior (deck 3 listing)156 sq ft3
Spacious Interior (deck 3 listing)178 sq ft3

Good to know before you pick

  • Deck 14 midship cabins sit under the Deck 15 pools (Royal Bay, Cove) and Chill Island bars; Deck 14 aft cabins under the Windjammer Marketplace and Hideaway
  • Deck 7 aft cabins line Surfside (carousel, Splashaway Bay, arcade)
  • Deck 8 cabins on the inner side face Central Park (midship)
  • Deck 4 and Deck 3 cabins sit beside the Music Hall and Casino Royale
  • Accessible and connecting cabins are marked with icons per the plan legend

If you use a wheelchair or walk with difficulty

Royal Caribbean's deck plan marks accessible staterooms and offers accessible versions of cabin types (count not published on the page). Accessible cabins have 32-34 inch doors, no threshold, roll-in showers; request at booking; special-needs form at least 30 days before sailing. Tender policy for wheelchair users not found on pages checked. Elevators: Two main elevator banks, forward and aft of midship, on decks 2-17; Deck 18 forward bank only Our accessibility guide →

Deck plans

Find your way around

Our own deck plans, drawn from the line's official plan: tap a deck to see it from above, with what's at the front, middle and back of the ship. Use “Find on board” to light up every deck with a pool, a bar or a restaurant. Not to scale.

  1. Deck 20 , Waterslide tower (drawing without labels)
  2. Deck 19 , The Grove Suite Sun Deck
  3. Deck 18 , The Grove Suite Sun Deck, pool and whirlpool; The Grove
  4. Deck 17 , Coastal Kitchen; Cloud 17 Pool; The Lime and Coconut; Cloud 17 whirlpool; Smoking Area; Sports Court
  5. Deck 16 , Coastal Kitchen Suite Lounge; Swim & Tonic; The Lime and Coconut Frozen Bar; Dry Slide; Chill Island; Crown's Edge; Adrenaline Peak; Desserted Milkshake Bar; Basecamp and Basecamp Bar; Lost Dunes (mini golf); Thrill Island; FlowRider
  6. Deck 15 , The Overlook Pods; AquaTheater / AquaDome; Rye & Bean; Hooked Seafood; Celebration Table; AquaDome Market; Table Tennis; The Lime and Coconut (two bars); Sprinkles; Chill Island; Cove Pool; Royal Bay Pool; Cantina Fresca; El Loco Fresh; Windjammer Marketplace; Hideaway Pool and The Hideaway Bar
  7. Deck 14 , The Overlook; To Dry For; Vitality Spa; Cabins
  8. Deck 12 , Vitality Spa; Cabins
  9. Deck 11 , Cabins
  10. Deck 10 , Cabins
  11. Deck 9 , Cabins
  12. Deck 8 , Hollywoodland Supper Club; Izumi Hibachi & Sushi / Izumi in the Park; Chops Grille; Trellis Bar; Central Park; Park Cafe; Bubbles; Lou's; Retail; Dry Slide
  13. Deck 7 , The Pearl (top); Surfside Eatery; Arcade; Carousel; Sugar Beach; Sprinkles; Playscape; Pier 7; The Lemon Post; Splashaway Bay; Baby Bay; Water's Edge Pool
  14. Deck 6 , Fitness Center; Escape Room; Crown Lounge; Royal Railway Legend Station; Dueling Pianos; The Pearl / Pearl Cafe; Giovanni's Italian Kitchen & Wine Bar; Royal Promenade; Boleros; Schooner Bar; Playmakers Sports Bar & Arcade; Adventure Ocean; Social020
  15. Deck 5 , Fitness Center; Royal Theater; Running Track; Sorrento's; Royal Promenade; Spotlight Karaoke; Starbucks; The Pearl; Shore Excursions; 1400 (lobby bar); Ale & Arrow; Guest Services; Crown & Anchor Society / Next Cruise; Dining Room; Absolute Zero
  16. Deck 4 , Royal Theater (lower level); Music Hall; Casino Royale; Dining Room
  17. Deck 3 , Medical Center; Music Hall (lower level); Non-Smoking Casino; Dining Room (lower level)
  18. Deck 2 , Port Gangways (forward, midship, aft)

Open Royal Caribbean International's official deck plan →

Planning your trip

What to book, and when

Booking, check-in and reservations

App check-in is available up to the morning of boarding (opening date not found). Beverage packages bookable online up to 72 hours before sailing. Deposit: 10% of fare or the standard deposit, whichever is higher; $500 per person for 15+ night cruises. Assistance requests 30 days before; sign-language interpreting 60 days.

Paying and cancelling

Cancellation charges follow the standard policy for your sailing; non-refundable-deposit fares lose the deposit. Exact day thresholds not published from the pages checked.

Tips for her Europe sailings

Summer 2027 Freedom of the Seas from Southampton; Barcelona and Rome (Civitavecchia) round-trips. Onboard currency exchange limited; carry euros for ports.

Before you go

The details

The ship in numbers

Cruise line
Royal Caribbean International
Kind of ship
Mass-market
Built
2026
Guests
5,610
Crew
2,350
Guest decks
20
Gross tons
248,663
Length
364 m (1,196 ft)
Width
65 m (213 ft)
Flag
Bahamas
Class
Icon class
Ship number
IMO 9888560
In Europe 2026–27
Western Mediterranean
Worth knowing

Highlights

  • Icon-class ship; maiden voyage 29 July 2026 (Royal Caribbean)
  • Royal Caribbean lists up to 5,610 guests and 20 decks
  • Royal Caribbean markets weeklong sailings from Europe for this ship
Sources & what we could not confirm · 13 sources · checked 2026-11
Still being confirmed
  • Dining cost marked only where the ship page says complimentary; other venues left blank (cost not stated on the pages read)
  • Deck plan venue labels are drawn as images (SVG paths), so per-deck venues could not be read
  • Beam is Royal Caribbean's published figure, which appears to be maximum width including bridge wings
  • Royal Caribbean International: Drinks package price (dynamic, not published)
  • Royal Caribbean International: Online check-in opening date
  • Royal Caribbean International: Final payment date and cancellation penalty schedule
  • Royal Caribbean International: Wheelchair tender policy
  • Royal Caribbean International: Nationality mix on Europe sailings
  • Deck plan: Cabin sizes came only from the deck 3 room listing in the page data
  • Deck plan: Deck 20 drawing has no labels; assumed to be the waterslide tower